top of page

Congratulations to the winners of the 39th Deborah Kahan Competition!


String Division


First Place Winner and Judges' Special Award

Robert Mays ( cello)


Second Place Winner

Talya Hadari (cello)


Third Place Winner

Isabella Maiani ( violin)


Piano Division

Judges Special Award Winner 

Abigail Chang


First Place Winners

Abigail Chang

Mirah Chang

Aidan Guo

Giora Nadav

Benjamin Vaculin

Mihal Vaculin

Leo Daniel White

Olivia Whee


Teachers of Winners

Kumiko Imamura, Andrea Mills, Dan Nadav, Vered Reznik, Susan Robison, Sarah Smale

2023-2024 Season




Opening Potluck Luncheon

Date: October 17th 11am

Location: The Beacon Apartments in Norwalk (10 Willard Road, Norwalk)


Opening Potluck Luncheon (chaired by all board members, write to with any questions). 

All members are welcome!  Please RSVP by 10/10.


Fall Public Recital: Easton Library


Recital Date: Saturday, November 18th 1:30 pm

Location: Easton Library ( 691 Morehouse Road, Easton)


Registration deadline: Friday, October 27th (email

Participation fee: $20 

Please send one check for all participating students to:

Olga Stelman

503 Booth Hill Rd

Trumbull CT 06611

Repertoire: Classical repertoire and music by pedagogical composers. Pieces must be memorized.


Chair: Olga Stelman (

Twelfth Annual Festival Audition


The goal of this festival is to provide recognition to talented and motivated students who can prepare for an evaluated audition, and who are confident enough to perform in public. It is open to students of voice, piano and all other instruments.

Students who intend to participate in CSMTA's Deborah Kahan Competition are NOT eligible to perform in this event.


Festival Date:  Sunday, December 10th 1pm
Registration Deadline by mail: postmarked by Monday, November 27

Registration Deadline by email: Friday, December 1st


Checks and applications should be sent to Andrew Gordon, 23 Sullivan Drive, Redding, CT, 06896

Westport Suzuki School

246 Post Rd East

Westport CT 06880

Andrew Gordon and Kunyoung Kim, chairs,

Click on ‘Festival’ for more specific guidelines and the application form

38th Annual Deborah Kahan Competition


This competition is open Piano, violin, viola, cello, double bass, guitar; soloists, duos, or any combination of piano and strings.  Students must be between the age of 6 and 18. For more information visit the 'Competition' page.


Competition Date: Sunday, January 28th


Winner's recital: Saturday, February 10th 

Registration Deadline: Saturday, January 6th

Competition Location: Hiroko Dutton's house ( 115  Acre View Drive, Stamford

Winner's Concert Location: Wilton Library ( 150 Ridgefield Road, Wilton)

Co-chairs: Hiroko Dutton and Kumiko Imamura ( (Hiroko Dutton and Kumiko Imamura, chairs,

Click on ‘Competition’ for more specific guidelines and the application form


Community recital


Date and location TBA


Community Recitals are Student Recitals that take place in local senior homes. Residents are very happy to see young people performing for them and we always hear lots of positive comments. 


Submission Deadline: 


Chair: Benjamin Steinhardt (


Spring Showcase Recital


Recital Date: Sunday, May 19th, 2024 

1:30 ~ 3:30pm

Repertoire : Classical repertoire and music by pedagogical composers.  

                    Solo Pieces must be memorized.

                    Student/Student duet is allowed with music.   (No Student/Teacher is allowed)


Chair: Hiroko Dutton (

Location: Wilton Library, (137  Old Ridgefield Road, Wilton)

Registration Fee : $20 per student

Registration will starts on Monday, April 1, 2024
   DEADLINE : Midnight, Friday, May 3, 2024
   Performance time limit : Maximum Total of 20minutes per each teacher



M.A.P. (Music Achievement Program)


Date: Sunday, April 21, 2024 @ 2 pm
Suzuki Music School

246 Post Rd E, Westport, CT 06880


The MAP (Musicianship Achievement Program) is directed at students of CSMTA teachers and offers both a Performance and Theory section. Held annually, students can choose to participate in the Full MAP (both performance and theory) or just the Theory exam. With a total of 10 levels, students have the opportunity to perform memorized pieces, display keyboard skills and demonstrate written/aural awareness in accordance with the prescribed MAP syllabus.

For more information:


Chair: Seray Goktekin


We look forward to seeing you and your students soon!





bottom of page